Skip to page content
Return to Top

About Us

Tarleton State University Southwest Metroplex, an outreach teaching site of Tarleton State University, has operated programs serving the needs of Tarrant, Johnson and Parker Counties for over 30 years.  Initial programs started in 1978 in the area of Medical Laboratory Science provide critically needed health care professionals for the rapidly growing metroplex.  Those programs were followed by cooperative programs with the Fort Worth ISD to offer an alternative teacher certification program to meet critical needs for teachers in 2000.

Since that time, Tarleton has expanded program offerings at this location to include a variety of programs in Education, Counseling, Business, Psychology, Industrial Engineering, and Criminal Justice.  Programs include both master's level course work and junior/senior level courses for baccalaureate degree completion.  Baccalaureate degree completion programs are designed to build upon associate programs offered at Tarrant County Community College, Weatherford College and Hill College-Johnson County.

Students enrolling at Tarleton’s Southwest Metroplex Center in Fort Worth may choose courses and entire programs offered via a variety of delivery modes including face-to-face, blended or online. Some programs may be offered in a wholly online format, some blended and some face-to-face, while others are offered in a cohort model.  Consult the program's listing for the type of delivery modes available for each program offered through the Southwest Metroplex Center.

Tarleton Southwest Metroplex has a diverse student population comprised mostly of working adults seeking baccalaureate completion degrees or masters’ degrees. Classes are offered in the evenings, days and weekends to accommodate both part-time and full-time students.  Advisors and support staff are available to assist with admission and degree plans.  Students enrolling in baccalaureate completion programs must have at least 30 semester hours of college credits and be TSI complete.  Applicants must meet transfer admission standards.

Administrative offices for the Southwest Metroplex are located at 6777 Camp Bowie Boulevard, Fort Worth, Texas at the Hickman Building.  Classrooms are located in Tarleton operated facilities at the Hickman Building in Fort Worth, the R.C. Schaffer Building in Fort Worth, and the Dora Lee Langdon Center in Granbury.  In addition, classrooms are utilized at Weatherford College in Weatherford, Hill College in Cleburne, and Luella Merrett School-FWISD in Fort Worth.