Skip to page content
Return to Top

Welcome to the Department of Social Sciences!

Tarleton history students at Phi Alpha Theta conference

About Us

The Department of Social Sciences includes the disciplines of History, Political Science, Sociology, Philosophy, Geography, and Religious Studies. The mission of the department is to work to support the missions of the university and College of Liberal and Fine Arts by preparing its majors for further study, establishing a firm foundation of knowledge and understanding for public school teachers, training students for administrative and policy positions in government at all levels, and helping all students to become knowledgeable and productive citizens in their communities through the Core Curriculum and upper level offerings.

The Department of Social Sciences offers programs of study leading to a Bachelor of Arts degree in History, with or without certification; a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science, a Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science, and a Bachelor of Science degree in Sociology.  We also now offer a bachelor's degree in Political Science with an emphasis in International Studies.  Additionally, the department offers minors in History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology and courses in Geography and Religion Studies.  On the graduate level, the Master of Arts degree is offered in History.

The faculty of the Department of Social Sciences is recognized for its devotion to quality instruction and research. Four faculty have won the Arthur Award for Teaching Excellence, two have won the O.A. Grant Award for Teaching Excellence, three have won the Minnie Stevens Piper Award for Outstanding Teaching, and one has been named Texas A&M System Regents Professor.  We are the only department on campus to possess this distinguished record of recognition for teaching excellence.

News and Events