Skip to page content
Return to Top

Comeback Athlete

The Tarleton Sports Medicine Comeback Athlete Award is given annually to a student-athlete that has been
through a significant injury or condition and returned to successfully compete for Tarleton State University.

1990-1991 Karen Hula   Basketball
1991-1992    Julie Mata        Basketball
1992-1993    Steven Eichler Baseball
1993-1994 Opie Scott Football
1994-1995 Steve Sikes Football
1995-1996 Chris Givens Basketball
1996-1997 Rusty Gortmaker    Football
1997-1998 Trenzio Turner Football
1997-1998    Trent Grona Football
1998-1999 Chad Hierholser Football
1999-2000 Lynn Moore Track & Field
2000-2001 Justin Johnson Football
2001-2002 Andy Hudson Basketball
2002-2003 Justin Johnson Football
2003-2004 Jarrad Burcie Baseball
2004-2005 Greg Schafer        Football
2005-2006 Fred Jackson Football
2006-2007 Christina Ortiz        Volleyball
2007-2008    Tami Sutton Softball
2008-2009    Kenneth Cage Basketball
2009-2010 Brittnie Haley Basketball
2010-2011 Tara Towns Basketball
2011-2012 Brian Ford Football
2012-2013 Miguel Ramirez Baseball
2013-2014 Katie Covell Volleyball
2014-2015 Lauren Powers Softball
2015-2016 Katelin Huckabee Cross Country