Skip to page content
Return to Top

Faculty and Staff

English & Languages
Dr. Renee BarlowDr. Renee Barlow
Assistant Professor
Email: rbarlow@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant
Phone: 254-968-9039
Dr. Jeanelle BarrettDr. Jeanelle Barrett
Head of Department of English & Languages, Associate Professor
Email: jbarrett@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 327
Phone: 254-968-9039
B.A., English, University of Central Oklahoma, 1994
M.A., English linguistics, Purdue University, 1997
Ph.D., English linguistics, Purdue University, 2000

Teaching Interests: Linguistics, grammars and technical writing

Research Interests: Linguistics, technical writing and humor studies

Ms. Loretta L. BristerMs. Loretta L. Brister
Assistant Professor
Email: brister@tarleton.edu
Office: online
Phone: (254) 968-9039
B.A., Tarleton State University, 1983
M.A.T., Tarleton State University, 1985
Ms. Marissa BurnsMs. Marissa Burns
Administrative Assistant III
Email: mburns@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 327
Phone: 254-968-9039
Dr. Julie A. ChappellDr. Julie A. Chappell
Professor
Email: chappell@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 312
Phone: (254) 968-9320
B.A., University of California San Diego, 1983
M.A., University of Washington
Ph.D., University of Washington, 1989

Research Interests: Medieval-Early Modern British Literature, Textual studies, Medieval sermon studies

Ms. Lacy J. DavisMs. Lacy J. Davis
Instructor
Email: ljdavis@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 313
Phone: (254)968-9750
Dr. Sam F. DodsonDr. Sam F. Dodson
Professor
Email: dodson@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 315
Phone: (254) 968-9034
B.A., University of Nebraska - Omaha, 1981
M.A., University of Iowa, 1985
Ph.D., University of Nebraska - Lincoln, 1995

Research Interests: Modern American poetry, Film studies, Poetry performance

Mr. Michael D. DooleyMr. Michael D. Dooley
Assistant Professor
Email: dooley@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 332
Phone: (254) 968-9322
B.A., Tarleton State University, 1998
M.A., Tarleton State University, 2001
Ms. Mary Lanell GonzalesMs. Mary Lanell Gonzales
Assistant Professor
Email: gonzales@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 314
Phone: (254) 968-9280
B.A., Tarleton State University, 1992
M.A., Tarleton State University, 1994
Dr. Katrina HinsonDr. Katrina Hinson
Assistant Professor
Email: khinson@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 337
Phone: 254-968-9039
Mr. William "Hank" Jones, Jr.Mr. William "Hank" Jones, Jr.
Assistant Professor
Email: wjones@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 311
Phone: (254) 968-9284
B.A., Tarleton State University, 1994
M.A., Tarleton State University, 1996
Ms. Benedda M. KonvickaMs. Benedda M. Konvicka
Assistant Professor
Email: bkonvicka@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 336
Phone: (254) 968-9286
B.A., Texas Woman's University, 1969
M.A., Northern Arizona University, 1983
Mr. Charles "Nick" LillyMr. Charles "Nick" Lilly
Assistant Professor
Email: lilly@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 324
Phone: (254) 968-9323
B.A., North Texas State University, 1982
M.A., North Texas State University, 1987
Ms. Katherine LincolnMs. Katherine Lincoln
Assistant Professor
Email: klincoln@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 333
Phone: (254) 968-9043
B.A., The University of Texas at Austin, 1981
M.A., University of Houston, 1985
Dr. Bertha Cecilia Marrugo-PuelloDr. Bertha Cecilia Marrugo-Puello
Assistant Professor
Email: mpuello@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 306
Phone: 254-968-9324
Ms. Minerva M. McCutchenMs. Minerva M. McCutchen
Instructor
Email: mccutchen@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 320
Phone: (254) 968-9042
B.A., University of Mary Hardin Baylor, 1994
M.A., Tarleton State University, 1996
Dr. Cynthia A. McPhersonDr. Cynthia A. McPherson
Assistant Professor
Email: mcpherson@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 318
Phone: (254)968-9036
Dr. Kathleen A. MollickDr. Kathleen A. Mollick
Associate Professor
Email: kmollick@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 329
Phone: (254) 968-9037

B.A., Western Washington University, 1987
B.A.Ed., Eastern Washington University, 1996
M.A., Tarleton State University, 2000
Ph.D., Texas Woman's University, 2007

Research Interests: Presidential/political rhetoric, History of rhetoric, History of composition pedagogy, American popular culture

Ms. Alice A. NewsomeMs. Alice A. Newsome
Assistant Professor
Email: anewsom@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 338
Phone: (254) 968-9026

B.A., East Texas State University, 1981
M.Ed., Tarleton State University, 1985

Dr. Moumin M. QuaziDr. Moumin M. Quazi
Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies in English
Email: quazi@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 337
Phone: (254) 968-9283
B.F.A, Radio/TV/Film, Texas Christian University, 1984
M.A., Biblical Studies, Dallas Theological Seminary, 1990
M.A., English, University of North Texas, 1995
Ph.D., English, University of North Texas, 1999

Teaching Interests: Critical Theory, Intro to Literature, Classical Literature, 19th and 20th Century British Lit

Research Interests: Postcolonial Theory, Salman Rushdie, South Asian Literature and Culture Studies

Ms. Carolyn RicheyMs. Carolyn Richey
Instructor
Email: richey@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 317
Phone: 254-968-9511
B.A., English and Education, University of Missouri, 1974
M.A., Education, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, 1980
M.A., English, San Diego State University, 1994
Dr. Marilyn RobitailleDr. Marilyn Robitaille
Associate Professor
Email: robitaille@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 310
Phone: (254) 968-9281

B.A., Tarleton State University, 1973
M.A., Middlebury College, 1979
Ph.D., Texas Woman's University, 1995

Research Interests: Eighteenth-Century British literature, English language-arts pedagogy, Film studies,Editing and publication

Dr. B. Mark ShipmanDr. B. Mark Shipman
Professor
Email: shipman@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 316
Phone: (254) 968-9035

B.S., Tarleton State University, 1978
M.B.A., Tarleton State University, 1980
M.A.T., Tarleton State University, 1988
Ph.D., University of North Texas, 1994

Research Interests: American literature, British literature since 1700, Wordsworth romanticism

Mr. Burton D. SmithMr. Burton D. Smith
Assistant Professor
Email: bsmith@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 308
Phone: (254) 968-9319
B.A., Southern Methodist University, 1969
M.S., Naval Post-Graduate School, 1982
M.A., University of Texas-San Antonio, 1993
Dr. Ben M. SwordDr. Ben M. Sword
Assistant Professor
Email: sword@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 239C
Phone: (254) 968-9038
B.A., Howard Payne University, 2002
M.A., Tarleton State University, 2005
Ph.D., Texas Woman's University, 2014
Dr. Marcy L. TanterDr. Marcy L. Tanter
Professor
Email: tanter@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 331
Phone: (254) 968-9282

B.A., University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1986
M.A., University of South California, Columbia
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1996

Research Interests: Research Interest -Post -1700 to pre-1925 American literature, African American literature, Emily Dickinson

Ms. Andrea ThompsonMs. Andrea Thompson
Instructor
Email: athompson@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 321
Phone: 254-968-9892
Ms. Molly ThorntonMs. Molly Thornton
Instructor
Email: thornton@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 307
Phone: 254-968-9025
Mr. Ed P. Tober, Jr.Mr. Ed P. Tober, Jr.
Assistant Professor
Email: tober@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 335
Phone: (254) 968-9285
B.A., Tarleton State University, 1988
M.A.T., Tarleton State University, 1990
Dr. Ivelisse UrbánDr. Ivelisse Urbán
Associate Professor, Director of Spanish Program
Email: urban@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 323
Phone: (254) 968-9829

B.B.A., University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
M.B.A., Syracuse University, 1987
M.A., SUNY-Albany, 1991
Ph.D., New York University, 2001

Research Interests: Poetic Theory, Philosophical Approaches to Literature, Modernismo.

Dr. Mallory R. YoungDr. Mallory R. Young
Regents Professor
Email: myoung@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 322
Phone: (254) 968-9041
B.A., University of Texas at Austin, 1974
Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo, 1979

Research Interests: Comparative literature, British literature, women's literature and popular culture.

Adjuncts
Ms. Rachel AllisonMs. Rachel Allison
Graduate Laboratory Assistant II
Email: rachel.allison@go.tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 304
Phone: 254-968-9039
Dr. Elson BondDr. Elson Bond
Adjunct Faculty
Email: ebond@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 239B
Phone: 254-968-9039
Ms. Marsha DeckerMs. Marsha Decker
Adjunct Faculty
Email: decker@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 239B
Phone: 254-968-9039
Mr. Stephen DillardMr. Stephen Dillard
Adjunct Faculty
Email: dillard@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 239B
Phone: 254-968-9039
Ms. Jamie GeeslingMs. Jamie Geesling
Adjunct Faculty
Email: jgeesling@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 239B
Phone: 254-968-9039
Ms. Barbara Godinez-MartinezMs. Barbara Godinez-Martinez
Adjunct Faculty
Email: godinez@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 239B
Phone: 254-968-9039
Dr. Jennifer LaddDr. Jennifer Ladd
Adjunct Faculty
Email: ladd@tarleton.edu
Office: online
Phone: 254-968-9039
Dr. Barbara McGregorDr. Barbara McGregor
Adjunct Faculty
Email: bmcgregor@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 239B
Phone: 254-968-9039
Ms. Stephanie MillerMs. Stephanie Miller
Adjunct Faculty
Email: samiller@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 239B
Phone: 254-968-9039
Ms. Hallie RaymondMs. Hallie Raymond
Graduate Laboratory Assistant I
Email: hallieraymond97@gmail.com
Office: O.A. Grant 304
Phone: 254-968-9039
Ms. Keri SchaeferMs. Keri Schaefer
Adjunct Faculty
Email: schaefer@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 239B
Phone: 254-968-9039
Ms. Lisa Thomas-McNewMs. Lisa Thomas-McNew
Adjunct Faculty
Email: thomasmcnew@tarleton.edu
Office: n/a
Phone: 254-968-9039