Skip to page content
Return to Top

Faculty and Staff

Fine Arts-Art
Laura ButlerLaura Butler
Artist in Residence
Email: lbutler@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 105
Phone: (254) 968-9245
Mark DavisMark Davis
Associate Professor
Email: mdavis@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 165
Phone: (254) 968-9235
B.A.   University of Colorado
M.A.  University of North Texas

Teaching Interests: In addition to painting classes Professor Davis also teaches: Printmaking, Life Drawing, Design II, Drawing II, American Art History & Visual and Theatre Arts

Mr. Knut HybinetteMr. Knut Hybinette
Assistant Professor of Art
Email: hybinette@tarleton.edu
Office: Mingus Library, FA 105C
Phone: 254-968-9245

BFA in Photography, University of Georgia, Athens

MFA in Animation and Photography,The School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Mr. Chris IrelandMr. Chris Ireland
Assistant Professor
Email: ireland@tarleton.edu
Office: FA 163
Phone: (254) 968-9274

B.F.A. Cleveland Institute of Art

M.F.A. Washington State University

Teaching Interests: Digital Media Art, Art Appreciation, Design 2, and Photography

Sharon SeelingSharon Seeling
Associate Professor
Email: seelig@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 161
Phone: (254) 968-0742
B.S.ED.University of Houston
M.ED. Sam Houston State University
M.F.A. Sam Houston State University

Teaching Interests: In addition to drawing classes, Professor Seelig also teaches: Watercolor, sculpture, Design I & II, Art History I & II and Experimental Media

Fine Arts-Music
Dr. Iwao AsakuraDr. Iwao Asakura
Assistant Professor
Email: asakura@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 108
Phone: (254) 968-9243

D.M.A.

University of Southern Mississippi

M.M.

Florida State University

B.M.

University of Southern Mississippi

Teaching Interests: Voice

Gregory L. BallGregory L. Ball
Assistant Professor; Assistant Director of Bands
Email: ball@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 106
Phone: (254) 968-9828

M.M.

University of North Texas

B.M.

Youngstown State University

Teaching Interests: Woodwinds

Research Interests: Jazz, General Music, Maynard Ferguson's Jazz Band

Steven ChambersSteven Chambers
Instructor and Accompanist
Email: schambe@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 116
Phone: (254) 968-9964

M.M.

University of Houston

B.S.

Tarleton State University

Teaching Interests: Class Piano, Beginning Fundamentals of Music to non-majors and Vocal coaching

Dr. Teresa DavidianDr. Teresa Davidian
Associate Professor and Department Head
Email: davidian@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 105B
Phone: (254) 968-9245

Ph.D.

University of Chicago

M.A.

Columbia University

A.B.

Columbia University

Teaching Interests: Music Theory, Music History, Aural Skills, Popular Music, Music and Society

Research Interests: Counterpoint, Analysis, Set Theory, 19th-and 20th-Century Music History, World Music

Heather HawkHeather Hawk
Instructor
Email: hhawk@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 170
Phone: (254) 968-9453

B.A.

Tarleton State University

M.M.

Baylor University

Teaching Interests: Applied private voice for Music majors and non-majors, Fundamentals of Music, Vocal Pedagogy

Dr. Vicky V. JohnsonDr. Vicky V. Johnson
Assistant Professor and Area Coordinator
Email: vjohnson@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 122
Phone: (254) 968-9238

D.M.A.

Boston University

M.A.

Sam Houston State University

B.M.E.

Tarleton State University

Teaching Interests: Music Theory; Music History; Music Education

Dr. Anthony PursellDr. Anthony Pursell
Assistant Professor and Director of Bands
Email: pursell@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 117
Phone: (254) 968-9242

D.A.

Ball State University

M. M. Ed

Loyola University

B.M.Ed

Loyola University

Teaching Interests: Wind Ensemble, Conducting, Arranging

Research Interests: Improvement of Sight-Reading, Teacher Preparation, Student Teacher Supervision, Audience Perceptions and Attitudes

Dr. Troy RobertsonDr. Troy Robertson
Assistant Professor/Director of Choir
Email: robertson@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 111
Phone: 254-968-9240

B.M. Music Education  2001

Furman University

 

M.M. Choral Conducting 2003

The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

 

Ph.D. Choral Conducting and Music Education  2011

Florida State University 

Dr. Leslie SpotzDr. Leslie Spotz
Associate Professor of Music
Email: spotz@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 124
Phone: (254) 968-9241

D.M.A.

Rutgers University

M.M.

Temple University

B.M.

Curtis Institute of Music

Dr. Brian WalkerDr. Brian Walker
Assistant Professor/Trumpet
Email: walker@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 172
Phone: 254-968-0744

B.M. Trumpet Performance, 2004

Southeastern Oklahoma State University

M.M. Trumpet Performance, 2006

Florida State University

DMA. Trumpet Performance, 2011

University of North Texas

Dr. Gary WestbrookDr. Gary Westbrook
Assistant Professor and Director of Athletic Bands
Email: gwestbrook@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 174
Phone: (254) 968-9439

Teaching Interests: Band, Applied Percussion

Research Interests: Identification of Jazz Mystery Recordings

Fine Arts-Theatre
Prudence Wehnert-SkinnerPrudence Wehnert-Skinner
Assistant Professor
Email: wskinner@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 177
Phone: (254) 968-9669

B.A., Cedar Crest College

MFA, California Institute of the Arts

Teaching Interests: Technical Theatre, Lighting and Sound Design

Mark HoltorfMark Holtorf
Associate Professor
Email: holtorf@tarleton.edu
Office: FA 180
Phone: (254) 968-9888

BA, University of Wisconsin at Eau Claire

MFA, University of Virginia

Teaching Interests: Set Design, Lighting Design, Acting, Directing

Carol StavishCarol Stavish
Associate Professor
Email: stavish@tarleton.edu
Office: FA 179
Phone: (254) 968-9381

B.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania

MFA, University of Virginia

Teaching Interests: Set Design, Costume Design, Directing

Fine Arts-STAFF
Dayle CoxDayle Cox
Administrative Assistant III; Purchasing; Box Office
Email: dcox@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 105E
Phone: (254) 968-9291
Johnny FeaganJohnny Feagan
Technical Director
Email: feagan@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 105G
Phone: (254) 968-9292
Lori LaRueLori LaRue
Operations Manager
Email: larue@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 105F
Phone: (254) 968-9639
Debbie MillerDebbie Miller
Administrative Assistant II-Music
Email: dmiller@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 109
Phone: (254) 968-9617
Sara "Sally" SimpsonSara "Sally" Simpson
Administrative Assistant III-Departmental
Email: ssimpson@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 105
Phone: (254) 968-9245
Teresa WestmorelandTeresa Westmoreland
Costume Shop Supervisor
Email: westmoreland@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 178
Phone: (254) 968-9637