Skip to page content
Return to Top

Dr. O.A. Grant Scholarship

Endowed in honor of Tarleton's Professor Emeritus of Social Sciences, these $1000 scholarships are offered to qualified history and political science majors. The application deadline for the fall semester is March 15. As many as ten academically outstanding students can receive this scholarship during an academic year.

A native of Breckenridge, Texas, Dr. Grant was a member of the Tarleton faculty from 1948 to 1987. He served as chairman of the Department of Social Sciences from 1967 to 1976; was named as an Outstanding Educator of America 1976; and was chosen as Tarleton's Distinguished Faculty recipient in 1983.

To be eligible for this scholarship, incoming freshmen must have an overall high school average of at least a B and a minimum entrance score on the SAT of 1050 or an ACT score of 22. The candidates must enroll in at least 15 hours during the semester and be a declared history or political science major.

Returning students considered for this scholarship must have a 3.0 GPA,completed 15 semester hours during a long term, and be enrolled in 15 hours for the fall semester. They too must be a history or political science major.

Application forms and further information may be obtained by contacting Dr. Malcolm Cross, Head, Department of Social Sciences, Box T-0660, Tarleton Station, Stephenville, TX 76402; (254) 968-9021;