Skip to page content
Return to Top

Regents Professor Service Award of TAMU System

This award was instituted by the The Texas A&M University System in 1997 to honor individuals at the rank of professor or equivalent who have provided exemplary service as faculty members not only to their university or agency, but also to the community, the State of Texas, and/or the nation, and/or at the international level.

Recipients of this award are designated as "Regents Professors". Once professors have been designated as such, they will retain the title throughout the duration of their service at the University or Agency.

An amount of $3,000 is awarded to the recipient for each of the first three years, for a total of $9,000 as a non-base award.

Each Regents Professor is awarded a special medallion bearing the seal of the System as well as an inscribed plaque.

In order for a faculty member to be eligible for this award, he or she must bear the rank of professor or equivalent for a minimum of five years at a System university or agency, have a distinguished record of service both at the local and state, and/or national, and/or international level, have an outstanding record of teaching, combined accomplishments in research or other creative or scholarly activity, give guidance of the potential for continuation of distinguished service, be a full-time faculty member (may include department heads), and have demonstrated a sincere commitment to the university or agency.

Tarleton State University Regents Professors


Dr. Jack Russell


Dr. Tom Pilkington


Dr. Brad Chilton


Dr. James Kirby


Dr. Don Beach


Dr. Pam Littleton


Dr. Mallory Young


Dr. Joe Gillespie


Dr. Christopher Guthrie