Skip to page content
Return to Top

Use of Recombinant DNA

For any project involving the use of recombinant DNA molecules, Tarleton State University assumes primary responsibility for complying with both the intent and the procedures of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant DNA Molecules.  This responsibility includes:

  • Ensuring a standing Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is maintained in accord with Part IV of the NIH Guidelines and also ensuring the research plan is reviewed and approved by the IBC prior to beginning substantive work under the project.
  • Registering all experiments involving recombinant DNA molecules conducted with funds provided under the project and complying with the containment requirements specified in Part II of the NIH Guidelines.  Records of this research must be kept in a form that is readily available to grant sponsors.

Principal Investigator's responsibilities include:

  • Being aware of recombinant DNA biosafety requirements and assuring that Tarleton's requirements and procedures are followed.
  • Assuring that all work involving recombinant DNA is registered with the IBC.
  • Assuring that necessary safeguards and procedures are maintained in the work place; and
  • Following the NIH Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant DNA Molecules.

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is responsible for reviewing, approving and maintaining a registry of research projects and/or proposals involving the use of recombinant DNA at Tarleton State University.  The IBC also provides oversight, review and assessment of adherence to NIH requirements for recombinant DNA research; training and expertise of personnel; lab safety, security and biological containment practices; and emergency contingency plans, including containment and cleanup of spills and exposure of personnel to biohazardous materials.

Institutional Biosafety Committee members:

  • Chairman: Dr. Janice Speshock, Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Ernie Bramlett, Non-Affiliated Member
  • Rusty Crum, Non-Affiliated Member
  • Dr. Kristin Herrmann, Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Dr. Sally Lewis, Department Head, Department of Medical Lab Science
  • Mark Murphy, Laboratory Manager, TIAER
  • Dr. James Pierce, Dean, College of Science and Technology
  • Dr. Harold Rathburn, Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Dr. Jason Sawyer, Assistant Professor, Department of Animal Science and Veterinary Technology
  • Ex-Officio: Dr. Barry Lambert, AVP for Research 

Send IBC applications to:  Office of Sponsored Projects, Box T-0015, Stephenville, TX 76402

Updated 9/17/15



“All researchers engaged in sponsored research activities must fully and conspicuously disclose the identity of the research sponsor on or in any communications intended for public dissemination or use (Texas Education Code 51.954 and 51.955).”

More Information