Skip to page content
Return to Top

Regents Professor Service Award of TAMU System

This award was instituted by The Texas A&M University System in 1997 to honor individuals at the rank of professor or equivalent who have provided exemplary service as faculty members not only to their university or agency, but also to the community, the State of Texas, and/or the nation, and/or at the international level.


A nominee for the Regents Professor award shall be a full-time faculty member who has held the rank of professor or equivalent for a period of not less than five (5) consecutive years within an A&M System university or agency (i.e., agency to mean the engineering or agriculture components) and may include department heads provided the faculty responsibilities are not overshadowed by the administrative duties.

The Regents Professor nominee must present evidence of the following:

  • A demonstrated record of distinguished teaching
  • A demonstrated record of distinguished accomplishments in research and other creative and scholarly activities
  • A demonstrated record of outstanding service at the local, state and/or national/ international levels
  • A demonstrated record of commitment to the university or agency
  • A record of notable indicators of the potential for continuation of distinguished performance in all three areas (i.e., teaching, research, and service)

Regents Professor Recognition

  • The recipient shall retain the title of Regents Professor for the duration of their service within the A&M System
  • Recipients receive a monetary stipend of $5,000, each of the first three years, for a total of $15,000 payable as a non-based award. The stipend will be funded from each respective agency through the normal budgeting process
  • The Regents Professor recipient is given a special commemorative medallion bearing the seal of the A&M System. The medallion is designed to be worn on occasions when academic regalia is required
  • The medallion, inscribed nameplate and certificate, signed by the Chancellor and Chairman of the Board of Regents, are presented to the Regents Professor recipients at the special recognition ceremony
Tarleton State University Regents Professors


Dr. Jack Russell


Dr. Tom Pilkington


Dr. Brad Chilton


Dr. James Kirby


Dr. Don Beach


Dr. Pam Littleton


Dr. Mallory Young


Dr. Joe Gillespie


Dr. Christopher Guthrie


Dr. Linda Schultz


Dr. Leslie Stanley-Stevens