Skip to page content
Return to Top

Board of Regents Meeting Update


Dear Faculty and Staff:

In an effort to keep you up to date on actions taken by The Texas A&M System Board of Regents that pertain to Tarleton, here’s a recap of the meeting that concluded today.

Tuition & Fees

The board approved new, increased and decreased tuition and fees for System members as recommended by the academic institutions.  At Tarleton, new differential designated tuition was approved for the College of Business Administration, engineering and technology and nursing and health professions.  Additionally, the intercollegiate athletic fee, supported by the Tarleton student body through referendum, was approved by the board.

Privatized housing

The board authorized the ground lease of approximately 1.5 acres for construction of privatized on-campus housing. We expect the new housing project to be completed by fall 2014 to support the growing residential student population on campus. Tarleton experienced a 35 percent growth in freshmen since fall 2011 and enrollment trend data indicates continued growth in future years.


The board approved the granting of tenure to 13 faculty members. My heartfelt congratulations to Dr. Jason Sharp, Dr. Jennifer Blevins-McNaughton, Dr. Susan Erwin, Dr. Tod Farmer, Dr. James Gentry, Dr. Kayla Peak, Dr. Mark Weber, Dr. Jennifer Edwards, Dr. Matthew Hallgarth, Dr. Lorie Helvie-Mason, Dr. Iveless Urbán, Dr. Sara Taylor and Dr. Dale Telgenhoff.

Holiday Schedule

The board approved Tarleton’s proposed holiday schedule for FY 2014, which includes one day for Labor Day, two days for Thanksgiving, eight days for Christmas/New Years, one day for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, one day for Spring Break, one day for Memorial Day and one day for Independence Day.

Emeritus/emerita status

Finally, the board approved the granting of emeritus/emerita status to Dr. Ruby Baker, dean emerita of the College of Business Administration, and to Dr. B.R. Kirkland, associate professor emeritus of management. My best wishes and congratulations to Drs. Barker and Kirkland.

As president, I want to thank you for your efforts to enhance the success of our students.


F. Dominic Dottavio, Ph.D.