Skip to page content
Return to Top

Board of Regents Meeting Update


Dear Colleagues,

At its meeting today, The Texas A&M Board of Regents approved several actions supporting Tarleton State University, including the FY17 budget and a number of personnel actions. The Board also approved our rules for implementing SB 11, the "campus carry" legislation that takes effect on August 1. The Tarleton campus carry rules may be viewed on the System website, which can be accessed from the Tarleton homepage highlight.

The Regents approved the FY17 university budget and holiday schedule as proposed by campus leadership.  The FY17 holiday schedule will be forwarded as an announcement to campus before the end of May.

The Regents also received a report on the status of our $25-million infrastructure and utilities project and our $24-million Memorial Stadium renovation, which are both in the plan and design stage, as well as on our ongoing private-development partnership projects for residence halls. More information on our construction projects is available in the News Section on our website.

Approval was granted to an updated agreement with Children’s Health Systems of Texas and its affiliates for students enrolled in Tarleton’s nursing, medical laboratory sciences, and social work programs. Students are required to complete a rotation, practicum, and/or internship in partial fulfillment of the requirements of their respective degrees. These real world educational experiences are customarily accomplished through placement at an external nonprofit or for-profit health care site like Children’s Health Systems of Texas.

In personnel actions, the Board:

  • Approved the appointment of Dr. Steve Damron as Dean for the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. Currently Assistant Dean at Oklahoma State University, he will begin at Tarleton on July 1.
  • The following individuals were promoted to the rank of Assistant Professor:
    • Jennifer McGregor, College of Education; and Tracey Holley, College of Liberal and Fine Arts
  • The following faculty were granted tenure and promotion to Associate Professor:
    • College of Business Administration: Keldon Bauer, David Notgrass, Joseph Schuessler, Arthur Young;
    • College of Education: Credence Baker, Kyle Eichas;
    • College of Liberal and Fine Arts: Iwoa Asakura, Rhonda Dobbs, Chris Ireland, Vicky Johnson, Anthony Pursell
  • The following were promoted to Full Professor:
    • College of Science and Technology: Beau Brawner, Bryant Wyatt, Peter White;
    • College of Liberal and Fine Arts: Leslie Spotz,
    • College of Business Administration: Rusty Freed, Randy McCamey

We appreciate the support of the Board of Regents in these matters and also the efforts of all the Tarleton faculty and staff who help develop these programs and initiatives. It is a pleasure to represent Tarleton at the Board of Regents meetings.

F. Dominic Dottavio, Ph.D.